First Mother’s Day

Good morning everyone! First off I want to wish every mother a Happy Mother’s Day! I know that for some Mother’s Day is hard. Whether it is from the loss of a mother, loss of children! My heart goes out to each of the mothers whose heart hurts every Mother’s Day! 

This year will be my first Mother’s Day! Last year I was pregnant when Mother’s Day came around and even though I was a mom-to-be, it just felt a little weird celebrating Mother’s Day when babe was still in the womb. So I decided that I wouldn’t celebrate Mother’s Day until babe was here.. 11 months later and here we are, our first Mother’s Day! 

We have so many firsts in our life. First cry, first laugh, first walk, first word, first date, first love, first heartbreak, first child.. I have had all those firsts before and I think the greatest of these (aside from marrying the man of my dreams) is the first time I became a Mother! Did I read all the baby books there is? No. Did I know what to expect after baby came? No. Was I prepared for the sleepless nights of a newborn? Yes and No.. I didn’t know everything about becoming a mother.. I knew a little on how to care for children but as far as my own I was so scared on messing up and being a “bad mom”.. But as soon as she was laid in my arms minutes after birth all of my worries went away! It was like a fresh breath of air that washed over me! Seeing the joy in both my eyes and my husband’s was all that I needed! Has it been rough? Yes! But I don’t think Motherhood is suppose to be easy.. If that was so there wouldn’t be all the books written for and by moms to help other moms! There wouldn’t be books on what to expect during the first few years of having a child/children.. But I know that it’s the most amazing thing in the world! Becoming a mother was my all time wish as I grew up and became an adult.. It’s what I always dreamed about.. And now, I get to live that wonderful dream every single day!

Both of these pictures are my favorite! The one on the left was when Lexi was 1 week old. And the one on the right is now. Lexi is 11 months old now.. She is so spunky and full of life and I am so blessed to be able to call her mine! I can’t imagine life without her! Hope each of you have a wonderful Mother’s Day weekend.. Tell that special mother in your life how much you love them.. You may never now how much they’re hurting inside.. 

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

